The Goth Tag!

I love tag videos and posts. I never get tired of watching/reading them! This one is really popular on YouTube but I don’t think I’ve seen it many times on blogs. If you’ve done one, link me to it!

Here are the questions:
1. How long have you been goth?
2. How were you introduced to goth?
3. What gothic sub genre would you put yourself in?
4. What do you believe to be the basis of the Gothic subculture?
5. What do you dislike about being Goth?
6. What do your parents think of it?
7. Eyebrows or no eyebrows?
8. What is your favorite band?
9. Your opinion on Marilyn Manson?
10. What were your baby bat days like?

1. How long have you been goth?

I was born this way! Hah. Oh… umm… well that’s kind of true in a way. The same reasons I consider myself gothically inclined have been the things that have always been with me. I learned the word “goth” in middle school, maybe early high school. I didn’t know shit about it but it was something that interested me and seemed right.

And for the record… I kind of prefer “gothically inclined” or “alt” a bit more than just straight up “goth”. Don’t ask why, it just seems right that way?
2. How were you introduced to goth?

Like I said above, I learned the word itself I think in middle or high school. I didn’t know exactly what it was all about but the imagery and little I could find associated with it really appealed to me. Like I even loved looking at photos and drawings of gothic architecture. I can’t remember where I heard about it though.
3. What gothic sub genre would you put yourself in?

Eh. Whilst I think sub genres are neat and labels can be handy and all, I don’t really fit myself into any of them. If I tried to think about it too much I’d drive myself crazy. Over at /r/fringefashion I’ve been tagged as “tradgoth witchqueen” based off the outfits I’ve posted. I’m ok with that! It’s not an actual sub genre but there’s a lot of wiggle room in there. The witch goth look appeals to me more than anything (like seriously it speaks to my sooouuulll, like a favorite song, y’know?) and trad is a close 2nd, so it works for me.
4. What do you believe to be the basis of the Gothic subculture?

Well that’s a hot topic right there. I’ve heard so many different stories of what the basis is so I’ll just go with the general consensus, which I think is this?
5. What do you dislike about being Goth?

If I’m dressed up gothy (which is most days now), it’s not being able to blend in to the crowd. I also don’t like being part of a subculture that can be so fucking racist and elitist. I don’t think it’s quite as bad as other things, but still. It’s ridiculous.
6. What do your parents think of it?

No clue what they think now! I know my mom wasn’t too pleased when I was a teen and wanted to paint my room black and dye my hair black. Not much has changed in that I still want black walls (had a half black apartment for awhile!) and I have dyed my hair (half) black.
7. Eyebrows or no eyebrows?

On other people, if they know how to do no eyebrows well? I love it. For me? I’ve been tempted to shave them sooo many times. But I rarely wear makeup because I’m just so bad at it, and it always hides behind my hooded lids and glasses so… eh. For myself… naw.
8. What is your favorite band?

Goth band: Sisters of Mercy (I know, I know…), Bauhaus, and She Past Away are my top favs. It took me a long time but I actually have warmed up to Souxie and Joy Division as well.
9. Your opinion on Marilyn Manson?

He seems like a really cool guy. I’d love to hang out with him from time to time.
10. What were your baby bat days like?

Not very exciting or embarrassing. I didn’t do makeup and I didn’t do Hot Topic. I just wore a lot of black when I could. Was very mopey, read a lot of Poe, wrote a ton of shitty mopey poetry (like, at least a thousand during high school alone) and stories, spent a lot of time in the dark, did a lot of morbid and dark drawings. So uh… basically I haven’t changed much! I just don’t broadcast all the shit art and such as much anymore.

So that’s it! If you’re reading this and you want to, you’re tagged! Maybe Mary Rose will do it?

Leave a Reply

