The KonMari Method

Last night while I lay in bed poking through Facebook, I came across an article about a book called The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing. I can’t remember who posted it but I did look into the book and it got me all excited to start this. I’m not going to buy the book at this time but I do have a firm idea of the process.

It’s basically an enhanced version of what I already do, crossed with the old “everything in it’s place, a place for everything” saying. You wouldn’t be able to tell by observing my personal surroundings, but I really -do- like the idea.

What you do is go through different categories of “stuff” instead of by room or section: Clothes, books, papers, miscellaneous, and sentimental items. You pick up one item at a time and if it does not “spark joy”, discard it.

This makes so much sense to me. Instead of being surrounded by “stuff” I’ll be surrounded by things I love. I understand the spark because I feel it every time I see one of my dolls or something pretty I made, so that part is going to be easy for me. I can just imagine diluting the stuff so that the sparky stuff can really shine.

The hard part is figuring out what to do with all my arts and crafts supplies. I am such a failure at knitting and such, and that really brings me down. The clutter that comes from all this is hard to organize in the space we have, but I also love the process (usually) and when the end product isn’t a complete mess I feel really happy about it. So I already see a problem there. I wish I didn’t have so many hobbies and interests! I say it all the time and I really mean it.

Today I was wondering where else I can apply this method to in my life, so I tried it out on my PC tablet. I went through all my apps and got rid of whatever didn’t make me happy (except Facebook, I hate that fucking shit but I need to stay in contact with some people). I got rid of a lot of apps that I liked but didn’t use that often and weren’t too fulfilling. It felt good!

What else can I apply this to? My Facebook friends? Making art?

I think today I’m going to work on my clothes. I’m always happy with my wardrobe. Part of it is because I feel like I should stick with one style when I like so many. Another part is because I’ve gained weight and my most favorite items don’t fit. And then it’s like I have so many random things, things given to me, etc. I’m not very stylish and just don’t know how to make things work, especially when I’m not really excited about an item. So I’m always getting rid of clothes but with this tidying method maybe it’ll help me be more content with my clothes.

After I do all this I’m going to start trying to invest in nice storage solutions like pretty boxes. I hate having things in random shitty boxes and totally scattered. I want storage that sparks joy!

*Disclaimer: Don’t be offended if I toss out something that means something to you or you gave me or whatever. It’s not a personal attack or statement against you, I’m just trying to make my place sparkly. I still love you, I just don’t necessarily love the thing.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

